FMP – The Age of Information

The last project of the course has finally kicked off, the Final Major Project. It is a very exciting time and I am really looking forward to spending the next month exploring my subject and hopefully designing something great.

As it is such a big project I have been thinking about what I wanted to do for the past couple of months, but due to other projects I have never really started to plan it out until now. Initially I had the idea of creating something around Hip-Hop music, as it is a genre that I am a huge fan of. From my experience Hip-Hop, or Rap, is always misinterpreted as an aggressive form of music that targets a younger crowd. However, the truth is that a lot of the music features experimental instrumentals with incredibly poetic lyrics that tell dark and complex stories. I wasn’t sure what the outcome was going to be but I was definitely leaning towards the concept.

When the actual project kicked off I started to do some more planning. I began my brainstorming by dissecting what the real issue was with the portrayal of Hip-Hop, miscommunication in media. This led me to start thinking about how news is communicated to us, including the very current issue of ‘Fake News’. I was much more at ease with this subject and as I thought about the modern forms of journalism and news media it came more apparent that this is what I wanted to spend the next 6 weeks focusing on.

The first tutorial with David and some of my peers was great as the feedback I received helped me to gain some direction. The evolved idea is now going to focus on the excess of information that is present in our society, or as I like to call it, ‘The Age of Information’. By looking at how current news formats (newspapers and websites) communicate to the public, I am going to attempt to deconstruct and re-imagine the way in which we consume news media. Conceptually, I think that this idea has a lot more strength that the Hip-Hop concept as news is such a core part of modern society.

In terms of idea generation, this has been one the most confident brainstorming periods I have ever had. I came up with my ideas relatively quickly and threw away the ones I didn’t like as soon as I could. I then took those ideas to peers and lectures to strip everything else away until I found the exact direction I was going to take this project in, which is a system I am definitely going to keep using in the future.

Leave a Reply

